View Full Version : Warning: 3dmagix is selling a rebranded version of Blender for $47
Artorious
06-12-2009, 02:28 AM
hey folks,
I was just doin my nightly check of blendernation.com and saw this headline. Apparently 3dmagix is selling Blender under a different name for $47
So if anyone was thinking of getting it, just download Blender it's the same thing and it's free.
stvndysn
06-12-2009, 03:56 AM
there are lots of different scams like that about, but because blender is under gpl, the person can get away with it, the main issue is that he uses copyrighten images to promote it
rileyman
06-12-2009, 09:48 AM
Heh heh... The 3dmagix website is already dead. Nothing like shaming a scam artist into submission (http://www.blendernation.com/2009/06/11/3dmagix-re-branding-and-selling-the-free-software-blender/#comment-487153).
You can rebrand and sell GPL software, but only if you maintain the GPL license and make it clear who originally created the software. A person or group could've just as easily then taken 3dmagix, and posted it elsewhere for free distribution. It's a pretty stupid thing to try to do -- GPL advocates are going to find out about it pretty quick.
Artorious
06-12-2009, 09:57 PM
yep i just wanted to make sure folks were aware of it so they didn't spend money needlessly.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.10 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.